Down Time

desk-918425_1280

Now that I have two beta readers currently reading my WIP, a possible third on the way AND an editor giving me a manuscript evaluation – it’s time for me to take a break.

I do want to be careful about my break time – my editor could be getting back to me next week so I still want to keep my habit of writing every day up. So in the meantime I have plans – whether they get done or not is something else – but my plan is to work on my blog a bit more, in particular work on some short stories to post. I am also currently working on some research for another Fantasy story – retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Thought the more I work out the characters, settings and plot, the more distant I’m getting from the core story. I may end up with something completely original at the end. I plan to work on this novel come November for NaNoWriMo 2017, but I want to get the basics down, the character’s and their personalities, the settings, I even sketched out a map!

Besides keeping my writing habits up, there are other areas in my life I should also devote some time to.

1. Quilting

I currently have two quilts on the go. One has all the blocks done but I’ve been procrastinating on figuring out the sashing to go between each book, the colours and calculating how much material to buy. Besides that project, there is my grandmother’s quilt that I’m still working on. It is a scrappy quilt made up of several small blocks – so it’s taking a while to get the number of blocks I need.

2. Getting a Job….

Okay, realistically I should be putting this first. I’ve been out of a job since January, spending my time instead on my novel. It’s been a great break away from my previous job to focus on something I love – and I do love writing. I enjoy the mornings when I get up and sit behind my laptop and type away – sure it can be frustrating and there are days my mind won’t focus. But If I can push out 3000 or more words in a day it works. Maybe I need to refocus my career, try to find something new… or maybe this novel will be my breakthrough? It’s a wish, but I know eventually I need to help pay the bills and that may mean a part-time job at a meaningless place.

3. Reading

I have a huge stack of books I haven’t read yet laying all around me. Some are non-fiction, writing reference style books; and others are fiction driven. I enjoy writing my reviews and hope to keep that up.

4. Gaming

What can I say, I love video games. Finding time for one without feeling guilty for not doing something else is difficult and keeps me away at times. I’m currently in the middle of three games; The Force Unleashed, the new Star Ocean for PS4, and Fallout 4. Fallout 4 has been challenging for me – I’ve never played any of those games before so I’m coming in a little blind but I’m enjoying myself and enjoy the games I play. There are other computer games that I also play, Hearthstone and Heroes of the Storm. But getting on them can be even harder. I will admit its the guilt of spending all afternoon playing one of those games and not writing, or doing something more productive that keeps me away – but I’m still not typically writing (Thanks TV/Netflix).

5. Finally I have to mention TV/Netflix/On Demand.

I’ve been good, since I’ve been off work I’ve focused the first four to five  hours a day working on my novel – in one way or another. I currently write in the kitchen, completely out of view of the TV and living room. There were times where I’d work until 1 or 2 pm if I’m on a roll and don’t feel obviously hungry. However, after lunch it is difficult for me to get back into my writing. Now while I’m waiting for my feedback, I’m setting myself up in front of the TV more in the afternoons. Laptop still on and I’m still working on stuff, but it’s more distracted with the TV on lol.

So I’m winding down a bit, still trying to stay focus on other projects, but nervous about my beta readers and editor. A lot of my future is hanging on this novel and the edits to make after I get the feedback. I have serious plans for it and hope to share it with the world in the near future.

Leave a Reply

